GTA 6 Age Rating: ESRB Rates It M for Mature 17+
The ESRB has rated Grand Theft Auto VI M for Mature 17+. This guide lists the content descriptors on the ESRB's own listing, what the ESRB says the M rating means, and what is still not confirmed. It covers the ESRB rating only.
305 HQ is a fan-made toolkit. It is not affiliated with Rockstar Games or Take-Two Interactive, and it does not sell the game.
Quick answer
- Rating: M for Mature 17+, from the ESRB.
- Content descriptors: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs and Alcohol.
- Also listed: In-Game Purchases.
- Platforms on the ESRB listing: PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series. Publisher: Rockstar Games.
What the ESRB listing says
| ESRB listing | |
|---|---|
| Rating | Mature 17+ |
| Content descriptors | Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs and Alcohol |
| Interactive elements | In-Game Purchases |
| Platforms | PlayStation 5, Xbox Series |
| Publisher | Rockstar Games |
The listing's summary reads: "Grand Theft Auto VI is rated M for Mature 17+ by the ESRB with Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, and Use of Drugs and Alcohol. Also includes In-Game Purchases."
What M for Mature 17+ means
The ESRB's ratings guide says content in the M category "is generally suitable for ages 17 and up." It adds that M games "may contain intense violence, blood and gore, sexual content and/or strong language."
The same guide describes In-Game Purchases as in-game offers to buy digital goods or premiums with real-world currency. Neither the ESRB listing nor the PlayStation page says what Grand Theft Auto VI's in-game purchases are.
On the PlayStation Store page
The US PlayStation product page for Grand Theft Auto VI shows the same ESRB Mature 17+ rating and the same seven content descriptors. It also lists "In-game purchases optional".
Not confirmed yet
This page covers the ESRB rating only. These are not stated on the sources below:
- PEGI and other regional ratings. This page does not state them. Check pegi.info and your local rating board.
- What the In-Game Purchases notice covers in this game.
- Scene-level detail behind each content descriptor. The ESRB listing names the descriptors; it does not describe specific scenes.
Related guides
For what the November 19, 2026 release date means in your time zone, see the GTA 6 release time guide. For US prices and the pre-order bonus, see the GTA 6 price and pre-order guide. For what is confirmed on each console, see the GTA 6 platforms guide.
Sources
Last verified: October 19, 2026
